Jim Crow Laws

Viewing as a guest Viewing as Guest Last visit: 18.05.2024
Search this topic Search Topic

Welcome to the Cubed3 forums! Join us today - it takes just 20 seconds to start posting! Sign Up for Free Account Login

I'm studying AS History at the moment under the module "Civil Rights in America." Topics include Rosa Parks, MLK, Malcom X, KKK and Jim crow laws/black codes. I'm just wondering if any Jim crow laws are still in force in any state in the US.
If anybody don't know what they are, they formal segregation laws based in the southern states to separate the races, i.e prohibited from marrying a black person if you are white person and vice-versa.

Well, provided that segregation was deemed unconstitutional by the Supreme Court of the United States, then don't you think those laws would no longer be in effect in any state of the US?

Plus why are you asking this on a Nintendo forum, that's not even in the US? I'm sure you remember when Cubed3's web address was cubed-3.co.uk, right?

Who are we? We are the Knights who say..... "Wii"!

Plus why are you asking this on a Nintendo forum, that's not even in the US? I'm sure you remember when Cubed3's web address was cubed-3.co.uk, right?

It's general discussion, so anything goes. Besides, despite C3's 'base', there are loads of US members.

DannyMac wrote:
Well, provided that segregation was deemed unconstitutional by the Supreme Court of the United States, then don't you think those laws would no longer be in effect in any state of the US?

Whoa... sorry for asking Smilie

DannyMac, its not your place to state what can and what cannot be posted.

This is a general topic area and these types of posts are very much welcome as they broaden a person's knowledge.

Also just because a law is decreed unconstitutional does not mean it no longer exists. There are many laws in various parts of Great Britain which have been over-ruled through laws such as those regarding Human Rights but they still exist.